Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

As the Update Mill Turns

Send Article to a Friend

As the Update Mill Turns -- In the wake of its withdrawal of PageMill 1.0.1, Adobe has quickly released PageMill 1.0.2. PageMill devotees will recall that 1.0.1 brought PageMill up to the level of the PageMill portion of Adobe's recently released SiteMill 1.0 (see TidBITS-317). But, both PageMill 1.0.1 and SiteMill 1.0 have a problem which manifested itself by damaging graphics. The PageMill 1.0 to 1.0.2 and 1.0.1 to 1.0.2 updaters fix the problem, as does the SiteMill 1.0 to SiteMill 1.0.2 updater.

You can download updaters for PageMill 1.0, PageMill 1.0.1, and SiteMill from Adobe's Web site. Adobe's FTP site currently offers a PageMill 1.0 to 1.0.2 updater and a SiteMill updater, but no PageMill 1.0.1 to 1.0.2 updater. Adobe has also posted updated PageMill documentation, which now includes an index. [TJE]

<http://www.adobe.com/Software.html>
<ftp://ftp.adobe.com/pub/adobe/Applications/ PageMill/>

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>