Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Extract Directly from Time Machine

Normally you use Time Machine to restore lost data in a file like this: within the Time Machine interface, you go back to the time the file was not yet messed up, and you restore it to replace the file you have now.

You can also elect to keep both, but the restored file takes the name and place of the current one. So, if you have made changes since the backup took place that you would like to keep, they are lost, or you have to mess around a bit to merge changes, rename files, and trash the unwanted one.

As an alternative, you can browse the Time Machine backup volume directly in the Finder like any normal disk, navigate through the chronological backup hierarchy, and find the file which contains the lost content.

Once you've found it, you can open it and the current version of the file side-by-side, and copy information from Time Machine's version of the file into the current one, without losing any content you put in it since the backup was made.

Submitted by
Eolake Stobblehouse

 
 

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3.2

Send Article to a Friend

Adobe has updated its photo processing tool Lightroom to version 3.2. You can now publish photos to Facebook and SmugMug directly from Lightroom. Also included in the update are numerous bug fixes, tethered capture support for the Leica S2, support for new cameras like the Panasonic DMC-LX5, and more than 120 new lens profiles. ($299 new, free update, 79.6 MB)

 

Mapbox: fast, beautiful maps for your app and Web site.
Swap out Apple Maps for our open source SDK in just a few steps.
Choose a map design that suits your app and wows your users.
Start developing today for free! <https://www.mapbox.com/mobile/>