Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Skitch 1.0.4

Send Article to a Friend

Screenshot sharers should shout in celebration, though they shouldn’t try saying that three times fast. Skitch has been bumped to version 1.0.4, and its most notable new feature is that it no longer requires that you create a skitch.com account in order to use the software. Other improvements include a simplified Welcome screen, and a fix for a crash affecting some 10.6.6 users. (Free, 6.5 MB)

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to William Dodson, Goochelaar, Mike, and Robert
Schoenholtz for their generous support!