Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Transmit 4.1.7

Send Article to a Friend

Hot on the heels of the previous version is Panic’s Transmit 4.1.7, a minor update to the file transfer software that’s worth getting particularly if you use Transmit Disks, since it fixes a problem where Transmit Disk volumes would fail to mount. Also fixed is a Lion-related issue where line numbers failed to scroll in the editor. Finally, Panic made Transmit’s Favorites sidebar icons monochrome to better match Lion. ($34 new, free update, 22 MB, release notes)

 

Fujitsu ScanSnap Scanners — Save your business time and money
with our easy-to-use small ScanSnap Scanner line. Eliminate
paper piles by scanning documents, business cards, and receipts.
Visit us at: <http://www.ez.com/sstb>