Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Aperture 3.2.3

Send Article to a Friend

Apple has released Aperture 3.2.3, a small maintenance update to its professional photo organizer and editor. Like the recent update to iPhoto (see “iPhoto ’11 9.2.2,” 8 March 2012), this release enables you to delete individual photos from your iCloud Photo Stream. It also addresses unnamed “minor issues related to performance and stability.” ($79.99 new, free update, 635.54 MB, [release notes][*])

 

Fujitsu ScanSnap Scanners — Save your business time and money
with our easy-to-use small ScanSnap Scanner line. Eliminate
paper piles by scanning documents, business cards, and receipts.
Visit us at: <http://www.ez.com/sstb>
 

Comments about Aperture 3.2.3
(Comments are closed.)

Tommy Weir  2012-03-15 14:15
The minor issue related to performance seems to be an alert which popped up on my machine requesting that I delete a 3ivx QuickTime component which 'severely impacts performance'. It identifies it in the Finder and continues with the install after deletion.