Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Watch TidBITS Staff Commentary on the WWDC 2012 Keynote

Send Article to a Friend

As is our wont, we gathered virtually to chat about the various announcements being made during the WWDC 2012 keynote. What was new was that we were using Google+ Hangouts On Air so we could all see and hear each other (and some of the audio from the keynote). We were live at the time for anyone to watch, and Google+ Hangouts On Air are automatically recorded, so if you want to see and hear our unedited reactions in real time, check it out on YouTube. We’re far from expert at this sort of thing, and we’re still learning the tools and techniques, but we’d love to know what you think!favicon follow link