Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide



Related Articles



Audio Hijack Pro 2.10.5

Send Article to a Friend

Rogue Amoeba has released Audio Hijack Pro 2.10.5, which can now capture audio from Safari, QuickTime Player, FaceTime, and Messages on OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion without requiring the Instant On component (which itself was updated to version 6.0.1). Additionally, the update fixes a crash related to a custom install of the libFLAC library, ensures the Factory Reset functionality works properly under Mountain Lion, and adds compatibility with Gatekeeper. ($32 new with a 15-percent discount for TidBITS members, free update, 5.5 MB, release notes)


Automatic turns almost any car into a connected car. By pairing
Automatic’s connected car adapter with iPhone apps on
Automatic’s platform, drivers are able to drive safer and smarter.
TidBITS readers get 20% off all orders at <>