Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Adobe Illustrator CS6 16.0.1

Send Article to a Friend

Adobe has released Illustrator CS6 16.0.1 with a number of fixes to improve overall stability. The update resolves an issue with Illustrator unexpectedly quitting if you have only read-only permissions on the Preferences folder, ensures the Transform commands work as expected when using the Transform Patterns option, fixes the Save for Web command to correctly create images with specified dimensions, and more. Additionally, the new release should improve copying and pasting when working with a third-party clipboard manager. ($599 new, $249 upgrade, free update, 5.8 MB via direct download, release notes)

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Steven King, Bruce Borquist, Conor Martin, and Derek
Currie for their generous support!