Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

More Update Madness

Send Article to a Friend

More Update Madness -- Several readers commented on Wagner Truppel's article in TidBITS-293 regarding updating your computer to System 7.5.1. Some mentioned that peculiar problems can result from not updating the drivers for hard disks and removable media (especially SyQuest cartridges) to drivers known to be compatible with the new system version. Also, many readers noted that pressing Command-Shift-K when using the System 7.5 installer activates a hidden feature that creates a "clean" System Folder and renames the old System Folder. Though the Command-Shift-K trick is useful, Apple could make such functionality more accessible. This is not Windows; cryptic keystrokes aren't helpful. [GD]

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Thomas Heatly, Bruce Potter, William Giles, and
Gareth Parkinson for their generous support!