Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Set Password Activation Time in Snow Leopard

In Snow Leopard, you can now set an amount of time after your Mac goes to sleep or engages the screen saver before it requires a password to log back on. In Leopard, the option was simply to require the password or not. Choose among several increments, between 5 seconds and 4 hours, from System Preferences > Security.

Submitted by
Doug McLean

 
 

Dropbox 1.6.5

Send Article to a Friend

If you’re a Dropbox user running Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier, you might have noticed that notifications have been missing. Happily, Dropbox 1.6.5 fixes that problem, and it ensures that Dropbox autostarts after updating and fixes an issue with icon overlays in the Dropbox folder. If you aren’t sure which iteration of Dropbox you’re running, hover over the Dropbox icon in the menu to see the version in a tooltip, and if the main Dropbox download link gives you an older version, check the Dropbox forums. (Free, 23.1 MB, release notes)

 

Mapbox: fast, beautiful maps for your app and Web site.
Swap out Apple Maps for our open source SDK in just a few steps.
Choose a map design that suits your app and wows your users.
Start developing today for free! <https://www.mapbox.com/mobile/>
 

Comments about Dropbox 1.6.5
(Comments are closed.)

Sean McGrath  2012-12-17 07:12
The download install page says 1.6.5 but gives you 1.6.2.
Adam Engst  An apple icon for a TidBITS Staffer 2012-12-17 08:01
People ran into this with 1.6.2 too, and we never figured out what Dropbox's problem is. Every time I try to download, using multiple Macs and multiple browsers, sometimes logged-in, sometimes not, I get the advertised version correctly.

There seem to be two solutions. First, if you go to the Dropbox Forums, there's always a thread about the latest stable release that links to a direct download. In this case, it's:

https://forums.dropbox.com/topic.php?id=94256

Second, in your Dropbox account settings on the Web, there's an option labeled "Include me on early releases." It seems that if you select that, you'll get auto-updates. It's entirely unclear why Dropbox would push a stable update to the main download page without auto-updating existing customers.
It is now v. 1.6.11.