Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

LaunchBar 5.4.2

Send Article to a Friend

Objective Development has released LaunchBar 5.4.2 with improvements in indexing actions, services, and applications for the keyboard-based launcher. In addition to an overall performance boost to LaunchBar’s indexing engine, the update now recognizes executable shell scripts more reliably (even if they have filename extensions), ignores iOS apps when indexing applications, and improves 1Password indexing (especially on systems with multiple installed versions of 1Password). The release also replaces the previously used generic category icons in iTunes (Albums, Genres, Playlists, etc.) with dedicated icons, and it fixes a problem with the Play from Album option that started playing from the beginning of the album rather than the selected track. Finally, LaunchBar 5.4.2 fixes a bug with determining the originator of a copy operation when triggered with a mouse click (instead of pressing Command-C), an issue with sending a labeled email address via Instant Send, and the appearance of double quotes in conjunction with Instant Send or Clipboard History. ($35 new with a 20-percent discount for TidBITS members, free update, 2.5 MB, release notes)

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>