Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Mailplane 3.0.2

Send Article to a Friend

Uncomplex has released Mailplane 3.0.2 with the addition of a few welcome user interface changes. The Gmail-specific email client’s main window now displays your selected account in the window title (handy for those managing multiple accounts), enables you to assign a global keyboard shortcut of your choosing to compose a new message, and highlights Find results as you type. Other improvements include the capability to drop URLs into a message and drag blocks of text to another position. Finally, Mailplane 3.0.2 is ready for the upcoming release of OS X 10.9 Mavericks. ($24.95 new, free update, 15 MB, release notes)

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Eric Bobinsky, Michael Villebeck, Milner Erlank, and
Kenneth Winterberger for their generous support!