Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Will Touch ID Make the iPhone 5s More Accessible?

Send Article to a Friend

Much has been said about the security implications of Touch ID, the new fingerprint scanner in the iPhone 5s. But TidBITS contributor and accessibility expert Steven Aquino has a different take on it, as a tool for the disabled. Steven argues that Touch ID will be a boon for iPhone users with visual or motor disabilities that make passcodes difficult to enter.Generic Globefollow link