Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Marc Rogers Hacked Touch ID and Still Thinks It’s Awesome

Send Article to a Friend

Security researcher Marc Rogers has replicated the spoof performed by Chaos Computer Club members who tricked the iPhone 5s Touch ID fingerprint scanner with a fake fingerprint. Rogers says regular users have little to fear, as the technique requires expensive equipment and expertise. He also makes the case that Touch ID is still an improvement in iPhone security, since many users currently don’t use a passcode to secure their devices.Generic Globefollow link