Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

iMac 10.8.5 Supplemental Update 1.0

Send Article to a Friend

Recommended for iMac models released in late September 2013 (see “Apple Updates iMac with Faster CPUs and 802.11ac Wi-Fi,” 24 September 2013), Apple has issued iMac 10.8.5 Supplemental Update 1.0 for those models with an Nvidia GeForce GT 750M graphics processor running OS X 10.8.5 Mountain Lion. The update fixes two bugs: one that caused external drives to eject after the iMac goes to sleep and another that prevented certain USB Bluetooth adapters from working. (Free update, 17.1 MB)

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>