Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide



Related Articles



WebSTAR Demo

Send Article to a Friend

WebSTAR Demo -- We're working on a complete article discussing StarNine's new WebSTAR software (a vastly upgraded commercial release of MacHTTP), but didn't want to delay telling everyone that StarNine is offering a free demo copy that will run through the end of June. [MHA]


READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <>
Special thanks to Julie Magilen, Alan Cameron, Andrew Bacians, and
Henry (Skip) Dechert for their generous support!