Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Extract Directly from Time Machine

Normally you use Time Machine to restore lost data in a file like this: within the Time Machine interface, you go back to the time the file was not yet messed up, and you restore it to replace the file you have now.

You can also elect to keep both, but the restored file takes the name and place of the current one. So, if you have made changes since the backup took place that you would like to keep, they are lost, or you have to mess around a bit to merge changes, rename files, and trash the unwanted one.

As an alternative, you can browse the Time Machine backup volume directly in the Finder like any normal disk, navigate through the chronological backup hierarchy, and find the file which contains the lost content.

Once you've found it, you can open it and the current version of the file side-by-side, and copy information from Time Machine's version of the file into the current one, without losing any content you put in it since the backup was made.

Submitted by
Eolake Stobblehouse

 
 

Solving Google Docs Sharing Frustrations

Send Article to a Friend

Life was so much simpler when I had only one email address. Now I have three: one for managing online accounts, another for personal correspondence, and a TidBITS email alias for work email.

The email itself isn’t difficult to manage, but it’s a pain when a TidBITS contributor shares a Google Docs-hosted article draft with me via my TidBITS email alias, which isn’t a Google account, and I get the dreaded “You need permission” error, preventing me from accessing the document.


Fortunately, there’s an easy way to associate multiple email addresses with your Google Account, and once that’s done, documents can be shared with any associated address. Visit the Email & Phone settings page for your Google account (you’ll have to enter your password), and then, under “Other Emails,” click the Edit link.

That takes you to the Manage Account Information page, with a text field at the bottom in which you can enter an alternate email address. Input an address, click Save, and Google sends a verification email message to that address. After you click the link in that message, that email address will be associated with your Google account, and will work when someone shares a Google Doc with it. Should you wish to remove an associated email address, return to the Manage Account Information page and click the X to the left of the email address you want to delete.


Unfortunately, an email address can be associated with only one Google account at a time. Since every Gmail address maps directly to a Google account, you can’t associate a Gmail address with another Google account. And, as with Apple IDs, there is currently no way to merge Google accounts. (Come on, guys, acknowledge that you messed up in allowing or even requiring multiple accounts in the distant past and let us merge them!)

This method of associating alternate email addresses with your primary Google account removes some of the annoyance from using multiple email accounts, but there are other minor benefits as well. For instance, you can sign in to Google services using the alternate email address (in most cases — we have seen occasional exceptions where the primary address must be used), and they can also be used to recover your password in an emergency.

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Bill Newton, Carol Flood, Steven Boyer, and Laurie
Iten for their generous support!