Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Voila 3.7

Send Article to a Friend

Global Delight has released Voila 3.7, adding support for recording HD screen captures at 60 frames per second. The update also offers the option to downscale screen captures from Retina displays; adds native tagging in OS X 10.9 Mavericks; adds support for sharing videos via Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, Vimeo, Messages and AirDrop; adds a timer for setting the duration of a recording; and provides an option to append the date and time to the filenames of your captures. ($29.99 new from Global Delight with a 25 percent discount for TidBITS members or from the Mac App Store, free update, 26.4 MB, release notes)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>