Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Discover Anyone’s #FirstTweet

Send Article to a Friend

Twitter has unveiled an amusing new tool that lets users see the first tweet anyone posted. Mine (@adamengst) linked to a historically interesting pre-App Store article, @tonyaengst was paying attention to her to-do list and hydration (some things never change!), @lymond’s Twitter account outlasted his job, @GlennF was eerily prescient, @joekissell was unsurprisingly preoccupied with email, and @Moltz was predicting the end of Twitter. Oh, and Senator @BarackObama was anticipating the end of the war in Iraq. Link to other great ones in the comments!favicon follow link