Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide



Related Articles



DealBITS Discount: Save 70% on Live Interior 3D

Send Article to a Friend

Congratulations to Paul Brown at, Bruce Morris at, Eric Smith at, Greg Searle at, Edwin Bantilan at, John Ingham at, jscramton at Excite, Marc Rhodes at, Terry McCain at, and Egil Stenseth at, whose entries were chosen randomly in the last DealBITS drawing and who each received a copy of BeLight Software’s interior design app Live Interior 3D, worth $49.99. We presume they will all be reorganizing their living rooms this week.

Don’t fret if you want to test virtual furniture placements (or contemplate what it would be like to take out that wall between the kitchen and the dining room), since BeLight Software is offering all TidBITS readers a whopping 70 percent discount off Live Interior 3D through 26 June 2014. To take advantage of this offer, which drops the $49.99 list price to $14.99, use this link to purchase from the Mac App Store. Thanks to the 331 people who entered this DealBITS drawing, and good luck in future drawings!


Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <>