Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Extract Directly from Time Machine

Normally you use Time Machine to restore lost data in a file like this: within the Time Machine interface, you go back to the time the file was not yet messed up, and you restore it to replace the file you have now.

You can also elect to keep both, but the restored file takes the name and place of the current one. So, if you have made changes since the backup took place that you would like to keep, they are lost, or you have to mess around a bit to merge changes, rename files, and trash the unwanted one.

As an alternative, you can browse the Time Machine backup volume directly in the Finder like any normal disk, navigate through the chronological backup hierarchy, and find the file which contains the lost content.

Once you've found it, you can open it and the current version of the file side-by-side, and copy information from Time Machine's version of the file into the current one, without losing any content you put in it since the backup was made.

Submitted by
Eolake Stobblehouse

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

AppleCare+ Purchase Window Extended to 60 Days

Send Article to a Friend

Apple is extending the purchase window for its AppleCare+ extended warranty program for iPhones and iPads from 30 to 60 days in all regions except Japan. Apple has also discontinued its less-expensive AppleCare plan for iPhones and iPads (don’t worry Mac buyers, it’s still there for you). The plan costs $99 for two years of coverage, and in addition to the typical warranty extension, covers up to two incidents of accidental damage — subject to a $79 fee. Be aware that if you don’t order AppleCare+ at the same time as the device, you must visit an Apple Genius in person to purchase the service.favicon follow link

 

Comments about AppleCare+ Purchase Window Extended to 60 Days

To leave a comment, click Add a Comment and then enter the text, your name, and your email address (which won't be displayed). Your comment will appear after you follow a link in the one-time confirmation message we send to verify that you're a real person.
Receive comments via RSS
There are no comments on this article.