Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

ScreenFlow 4.5.2

Send Article to a Friend

Telestream has released ScreenFlow 4.5.2, which squashes a bug introduced in the previous maintenance release (see “ScreenFlow 4.5.1,” 28 May 2014) that prevented default export filenames from matching document names. The screencast recording app fixes a hang that occurred when opening documents with a high zoom factor, improves performance when opening documents with zoomed up timelines and many clips with audio waveforms, and fixes a memory leak related to modifying the speed of a clip with an audio waveform. For a complete rundown of the new features, read the PDF release notes from Telestream’s support page. Note that as of this writing, the Mac App Store version of ScreenFlow remains at version 4.5. ($99 new from the Telestream Web site or $99.99 from the Mac App Store, 39.1 MB, 10.7+)

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Donald Reid, Lynn, Neil Bartlett, and Charlie
Fleishman for their generous support!