Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

TCP/IP CC Apology

Send Article to a Friend

TCP/IP CC Apology -- My apology to Tim Kelly and Jeremy Kezer for carelessly including a description of Tim's TCP/IP CC control strip module when talking about the Jeremy's Control Strip Modules package in TidBITS-376. The "buckware" tool (it costs $1) is not part of Jeremy's collection of control strip modules; it's one of many neat programs available at the official Tim Kelly software page. [MHA]

 

Mapbox: fast, beautiful maps for your app and Web site.
Swap out Apple Maps for our open source SDK in just a few steps.
Choose a map design that suits your app and wows your users.
Start developing today for free! <https://www.mapbox.com/mobile/>