Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Apple Announcements

Send Article to a Friend

Apple Announcements -- Apple announced a bunch of network-oriented products today, including several dedicated servers based on the Centris 610, Quadra 800, and Quadra 950, a new text-retrieval package called AppleSearch, and two new versions of AppleShare, called AppleShare 4.0 and AppleShare Pro, that offer higher performance for more users. AppleShare 3.0 will stick around for small workgroups. I'll try to write more on these announcements in a future issue.

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Steven Bauer, Paul Fowler, Elizabeth Baskerville,
and Kevin Possin for their generous support!