Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Administrivia

Send Article to a Friend

We'd like to welcome our new sponsor, Nisus Software, publishers of Nisus, Nisus Compact, and the programmer's editor QUED/M. You can get an index of their information files (and find out how to request files) by sending email to <sponsors@tidbits.com>, or to automatically receive a 38K file containing all six information files, send email to <nisus-all@tidbits.com>. This file will not pass through the AppleLink or America Online gateways, so users of those services must request files individually.

Among other useful information, Nisus Software's files include news about the just-updated QUED/M, Nisus hints and tips, using Nisus foreign-language versions (the only foreign language word processor available in the US, according to MacWEEK), descriptions of Nisus Software's other products, and instructions on how to get free demo versions of Nisus and Nisus Compact.

Many thanks to Nisus Software for supporting TidBITS!

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Jim Saklad, Marco De Zordo, W.P. Fleischmann, and
David Darbyshire for their generous support!