Mark H. Anbinder writes, "Many users will be disappointed to learn that the offer of a free 7.1 update to those who bought System 7 since the beginning of September applies only to those who bought a System 7 Upgrade Kit package. Users who purchased System 7 as part of a recent Macintosh purchase must pay separately for the update. It seems to us that, as long as Apple is claiming that we've been paying for the system software within the price of the Mac all along, they should not distinguish between system software purchase approaches in deciding who deserves the free update."
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.