Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

International NUM Pricing

Send Article to a Friend

International NUM Pricing -- Nick Rothwell writes, "After the announcement of the $39 upgrade price for Symantec's Norton Utilities for Macintosh 2.0 last issue I checked the UK upgrade price: 49 pounds and (unless I'm mistaken) value-added tax (VAT) extra, which ends up around the equivalent of US$100-$110. So, as usual, the UK is being ripped off, this time by Symantec."

Information from:
Nick Rothwell -- nick@dcs.edinburgh.ac.uk

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>