Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

QuickMail comment

Send Article to a Friend

QuickMail comment -- Mark H. Anbinder writes in response to our comment last week that it would be silly to run a QuickMail client on an AppleShare Server 3.0 server machine:

Nothing at all silly about it. AppleShare 3.0 is designed to run as one of any number of applications under System 7, so there's no reason that an AppleShare 3.0 server machine couldn't be used as a QuickMail workstation. Obviously the more activity local to a workstation running AppleShare 3.0 in the background, the worse the server performance, and the more server activity, the worse the jerkiness on the workstation. Same as any other background activity. :-)

AppleShare server software and QuickMail client software get along fine, by the way. All permutations except AppleShare Server 3.0 and QuickMail server work fine.

Information from:
Mark H. Anbinder -- mha@baka.ithaca.ny.us

 

New for iOS 8: TextExpander 3 with custom keyboard.
Set up short abbreviations which expand to larger bits of text,
such as "Tx" for "TextExpander". With the new custom keyboard,
you can expand abbreviations in any app, including Safari and
Mail. <http://smle.us/tetouch3-tb>