Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Published in TidBITS 52.
Subscribe to our weekly email edition.

 

 
JesterCapWhat?! Something about this article seems odd? Maybe you should read it again carefully, or double-check the date it was published...
 

MailBITS/01-Apr-91

Send Article to a Friend

Seen on an envelope from MacConnection recently:

"Rush. Dated material. Dated for freshness. Blind dated. Updated. Open immediately. Open really soon. Open as soon as you can. Open sesame. Open says a me. Don't fold spindle or mutilate. Many are called but you were chosen. This is not junk mail. Save for future use. Save for a rainy day. Save for a sunny day. Save for today. Live for today. Live for tomorrow. Search for tomorrow. No prize numbers enclosed. No secret decoder ring enclosed. We know where you live. Valuable savings inside. Handle with care. Envelopes love to be opened."

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Rick Roder, Tom Robinson, glenn batiller, and Jan
Strasma for their generous support!