Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Paul Durrant

Send Article to a Friend

Paul Durrant <pdurrant@cix.compulink.co.uk> and Steve Dobbs <sdobbs@picayune.coginst.uwf.edu> note that the slightly smaller screen in the MessagePad 110 is not a problem, as mentioned in TidBITS #218, but in fact an excellent reminder to developers to check for screen size at runtime rather than assuming a certain size. As Paul says, "Taking advantage of the capability to write flexible software is good for the user, whose software doesn't break, and for the developer, who doesn't have to rush out tweaked versions."

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>