Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Blind Luck and the RSA Data Security Challenge

Send Article to a Friend

TidBITS reader Cerebus the Aadvark <kreme@kreme.com> sent us email commenting on the RSA Data Security Challenge coverage in TidBITS 402. We noted that Peter Stuer's Intel-based PC from the STARlab Bovine Team solved the RSA 56-bit challenge. Cerebus wrote, "the majority of the computers in STARLab were Macs, and Peter lamented the fact that the solution hadn't been found on one of the Macs. In fact, the Apple Evangelistas team, despite spotting everyone a hundred-day lead, processed far more keys than any other team. Also, you should have pointed out that which machine 'broke' the key was a matter of plain blind luck. We're going to kick major butt on the 64-bit challenge! "

 

Mapbox: fast, beautiful maps for your app and Web site.
Swap out Apple Maps for our open source SDK in just a few steps.
Choose a map design that suits your app and wows your users.
Start developing today for free! <https://www.mapbox.com/mobile/>