Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Apple Store Contributing More Profit (Correction)

Send Article to a Friend

In "Apple Store Reality Check" in TidBITS 410, Adam made a mistake in calculating how much money the Apple Store would contribute to Apple's bottom line if you assumed that all of the Apple Store sales would otherwise have gone through the dealer channel. In short, the additional 15 percent that Apple makes on direct sales should have been applied to the $144 million in orders, resulting in a $21.6 million profit above what Apple would have made if those sales came elsewhere. Thanks to alert readers Clive Bruton and Peter Schoenrank for setting us straight.

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>