Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide



Related Articles



Web Confidential 1.0.2 Released

Send Article to a Friend

Alco Blom has released a new version of his useful password storage program Web Confidential, reviewed in "Web Confidential: Securing Information of All Sorts" in TidBITS 441. Version 1.0.2 addresses some of our minor concerns, including support for the arrow keys in the Note field and some confusing category labels. It also groups the categories for easier visual parsing, fixes a crash related to the Platinum appearance being turned off, and fixes a bug that sometimes caused changes to be lost on save. To update from a previous version, download the new 384K package, install just the application, and replace your previous application.


READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <>
Special thanks to Masahiro Homma, Sharon Gibbs, Marilyn Dispensa, and
Mark for their generous support!