Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 
JesterCapWhat?! Something about this article seems odd? Maybe you should read it again carefully, or double-check the date it was published...
 

Macworld Expo SF Moving to Austin

Send Article to a Friend

Macworld Expo SF Moving to Austin -- IDG Expo Management announced today that the January Macworld Expo, long a fixture in San Francisco's Moscone Center, will be moving to an as-yet-undisclosed location in Austin, Texas. As with the recent controversial move of Macworld Expo Boston to New York, IDG Expo Management pointed to the increasing popularity of the Macintosh industry and said that while Moscone Center was expected to be too small for the next Macworld Expo, "everything is bigger in Texas." Apple interim CEO Steve Jobs, while noting that the move brings Macintosh industry executives closer to sources of cheap Mexican labor, commented in an offhand way that "San Francisco is not a big Macintosh town." [ACE]

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to W.P. Fleischmann, Eric Soto, Kathleen Eckert, and
Rodney Keck for their generous support!