Y2K Updates for FileMaker Pro 4.0 and 4.1 -- After withdrawing its 4.1v2 updaters a few weeks ago, FileMaker Inc. has released free updaters for both FileMaker Pro 4.0 and 4.1 to address Y2K-related inconsistencies in the way the database applications handle dates. The updates also quash a few bugs and add new strict data validation capabilities for numbers, times, and dates. The updaters bring the Worldwide English edition of FileMaker Pro 4.0v2 to version 4.0v3, and the Worldwide English edition of FileMaker Pro 4.1v1 to version 4.1v3; FileMaker says updates for localized versions of FileMaker Pro should be available shortly. If you installed the short-lived FileMaker Pro 4.1v2 update, you must revert to FileMaker Pro 4.1v1 before updating to 4.1v3. We're happy to see FileMaker extending these date-related fixes to owners of FileMaker Pro 4.0, many of whom did not pay to upgrade to version 4.1 for its ODBC-related features. You can download the appropriate 1.2 MB updater from FileMaker's support Web pages. [GD]
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.
- FileMaker Pro 4.1v2 Update Withdrawn (05 Jul 99)