Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

ProJPEG 4.0 Adds Compression Control

Send Article to a Friend

ProJPEG 4.0 Adds Compression Control -- BoxTop Software has released ProJPEG 4.0, a Photoshop plug-in for saving optimized JPEG images. Like BoxTop's PhotoGIF (see "Crunch GIFs Quickly with PhotoGIF" in TidBITS-479), ProJPEG's image compression outperforms Photoshop's built-in filters, creating smaller files for the Web. Version 4.0 adds a Target feature, makes ProJPEG calculate the amount of compression required to meet a file size of your choosing. You can also apply different settings to areas of the image marked as foreground and background (enabling you to apply more compression to a photo's landscape and less to objects in the foreground, for example). ProJPEG 4.0 is a 580K download and costs $50; owners of any previous version of ProJPEG can upgrade for $20. [JLC]

<http://www.boxtopsoft.com/pj.html>
<http://www.boxtopsoft.com/pg.html>
<http://db.tidbits.com/article/05381>

 

Bushel is a simple tool that allows you to manage Apple devices.
Use device inventory, app distribution, security settings, and
more on many devices at once, using an intuitive Web portal.
Manage 3 devices for free, forever. Try it! <http://www.bushel.com/>