Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Keep It Up 2.4 Adds Email Notification

Send Article to a Friend

Keep It Up 2.4 Adds Email Notification -- Karl Pottie has updated his server monitoring utility Keep It Up to version 2.4 (see "Keep It Up 2.0.1 Adds Remote Management" in TidBITS-451). Keep It Up now features alarms that trigger when free disk space (it's easy for remote servers to generate large Web logs without anyone noticing until the disk is full) or free memory falls below a specified percentage; at that point Keep It Up alerts the administrator via email. Other email notifications can be triggered when Keep It Up relaunches an application that has crashed, when Keep It Up restarts the Mac, or when someone tries to use an invalid userid or password to access the Keep It Up Web server. Keep It Up 2.4 also now launches items in the KIU StartUp Items folder in alphabetical order, lets you view only portions of logs aliased into the KIU WebLogs folder, and creates new log files using BBEdit's creator code rather than SimpleText's. Keep It Up 2.4 costs $22 shareware; upgrades are free to registered users. It's a 310K download.

<http://www.vl-brabant.be/mac/kiu.html>
<http://db.tidbits.com/article/05139>
<http://www.vl-brabant.be/mac/kiudownl.html>

If you're upgrading from Keep It Up 2.3, you'll have to reset your preferences and enter your registration code again. Resetting preferences becomes an issue only if you have Keep It Up set to keep an application frontmost at all times (which is done by appending ".1" to the filename in the KIU StartUp Items folder). In that case, since Keep It Up defaults to 0 minutes of delay before activating, it constantly brings your frontmost application back to the front as soon as you click anywhere else, which in turn makes it hard to configure Keep It Up or do anything else. Just remove the ".1" temporarily until you can set Keep It Up to have an activation delay. [ACE]

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Nancy Hyland, Stanley Kugelmass, Ed Specht, and Lee
Terry for their generous support!