Default Folder 3.1 Released -- St. Clair Software has released Default Folder 3.1, improving performance in Navigation Services and Save As dialog boxes and fixing a few bugs. The new version addresses one frustrating limitation of Apple's Navigation Services dialogs: with Default Folder 3.1, pressing Command and the up arrow key takes you one level higher in the file hierarchy, even when the keyboard focus is in the edit box. You can now also edit a file's Get Info comments from within file dialogs using Default Folder's Get Info command. Other fixes include an option to speed up the Recent menu in Navigation Services dialogs, and bug fixes in the Default Folder Control Strip Module and with LaserWriter 8 printer driver Save As dialogs. Default Folder is a free update for registered users, and is a 1.1 MB download. [JLC]
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.
- Tools We Use: Default Folder (05 Apr 99)