Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Single Time Machine Backups

Tired of Time Machine running all the time? You can turn it off in the Time Machine preference pane, but still initiate a single backup by choosing Back Up Now from Time Machine's menu bar icon. Of course, your backup is much less likely to be up to date, but Time Machine won't be taking any resources while you're trying to work.

Submitted by
Richard Kane

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Synchronize Pro X Released

Send Article to a Friend

Synchronize Pro X Released -- Qdea is now offering Synchronize Pro X 1.0, a Mac OS X-native version of its synchronization and backup utility (see "Tools We Use: Synchronize" in TidBITS-482). As its name suggests, Synchronize Pro X compares sets of files and updates them to match. It can also copy files from one volume to another and can even copy your startup disk to create a bootable Mac OS X system. Additionally, it can perform unattended backups to local or network volumes, or over the Internet (including Apple's iDisk service). The demo of Synchronize Pro X, a 1.6 MB download, works with folders containing less than 10 MB of data; its more advanced features can be applied only to folders with less than 1 MB of data. Registration removes these limitations and costs $100 (or $70 for users of the basic Synchronize program). If you've purchased Synchronize Pro within the last two years, the new version is free. [JLC]

<http://www.qdea.com/pages/pages-sprox/ sprox1.html>
<http://db.tidbits.com/article/05403>

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to George Root, Heinz Achleitner, Kent FLEMING, and Ray
Kloss for their generous support!