Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Fetch 3.0.2 Released

Send Article to a Friend

Fetch 3.0.2 Released -- As companies have begun to use the Internet to deliver software directly to users, file sizes seem to have grown exponentially. And frequently, as you download these huge files, your modem connection will break, requiring you to download the whole thing again. Fetch 3.0.2 circumvents this problem by incorporating a Resume Download feature that attempts to pick up where the first connection left off, assuming the specific FTP server you're using supports it. Other improvements in this release include greater stability with Open Transport, and incorporation of Stuart Cheshire's Natural Order sorting algorithm (see TidBITS-364). [JLC]

<http://www.dartmouth.edu/pages/softdev/ fetch.html>

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Robert Teeter, Michael Hanish, Robert Goshko, and S.
Irene Virbila for their generous support!