Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Security Update 2004-09-16 Fixes iChat Vulnerability

Send Article to a Friend

Security Update 2004-09-16 Fixes iChat Vulnerability -- Apple last week released Security Update 2004-09-16 via Software Update and as separate downloads. The update includes a new version of iChat that fixes a potential problem whereby someone could send a link that would launch an application on your Mac. After the update is applied, clicking such a link brings up a dialog that asks you to confirm that you want to run the application. If you don't use Software Update, three separate downloads are available, each about 1 MB in size, depending on the version of Mac OS X and iChat you're running. [JLC]

<http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html? artnum=61798>
<http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/ securityupdate200409161035ichat21.html>
<http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/ securityupdate200409161028ichatav20.html>
<http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/ securityupdate200409161028ichat10.html>

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to John Baxter, Dana Gregory, Frank Parks, and Paul R.
Simmons for their generous support!