Retrospect 6.0.204 Released -- Dantz Development, now owned by storage gorilla EMC, has released Retrospect 6.0.204 (that's build 204 of Retrospect 6.0), to fix a number of subtle issues (see "Dantz Ships Panther-Compatible Retrospect 6.0" in TidBITS-714). The bugs fixed include one that could cause Retrospect to delete more files than it should under highly specific conditions when performing Duplicate or Archive functions, and another that could sometimes render a Mac unbootable after a restore of a system that had multiple Mac OS X updates applied. Other improvements include faster matching speed (and no more -108 errors) when restoring from a pre-Retrospect 6.0 backup set, more accurate matching of files on Linux clients, compatibility with Linux clients running under Red Hat 6.2, the capability to back up files and folders with high ASCII characters in their names from pre-Mac OS 9.0 and Linux clients, and proper handling of volume creation dates when duplicating. Retrospect 6.0.204 is a free update for all users of Retrospect 6.0; it's a 24.7 MB download. [ACE]
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.
- Dantz Ships Panther-Compatible Retrospect 6.0 (26 Jan 04)