Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Extract Directly from Time Machine

Normally you use Time Machine to restore lost data in a file like this: within the Time Machine interface, you go back to the time the file was not yet messed up, and you restore it to replace the file you have now.

You can also elect to keep both, but the restored file takes the name and place of the current one. So, if you have made changes since the backup took place that you would like to keep, they are lost, or you have to mess around a bit to merge changes, rename files, and trash the unwanted one.

As an alternative, you can browse the Time Machine backup volume directly in the Finder like any normal disk, navigate through the chronological backup hierarchy, and find the file which contains the lost content.

Once you've found it, you can open it and the current version of the file side-by-side, and copy information from Time Machine's version of the file into the current one, without losing any content you put in it since the backup was made.

Submitted by
Eolake Stobblehouse

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Timbuktu Pro 8.0 Finally Adds Encryption

Send Article to a Friend

Timbuktu Pro 8.0 Finally Adds Encryption -- I'm not a nervous nelly, but it's always bothered me that my Timbuktu Pro connections are being sent in the clear when I'm not using a virtual private network (VPN) connection. Finally, Timbuktu Pro 8, released last week, includes standard SSH (Secure Shell) support and even uses its built-in compression to enhance speed. SSH uses public-key encryption to exchange a one-time session key. As long as you know that the public key is valid - which needs to be established by what are called "out-of-band" methods of confirming a certificate's identity - then you have something close to absolute assurance that no one can (currently) snoop your session.

<http://www.netopia.com/software/products/tb2/ mac/>

Timbuktu Pro 8 also uses Mac OS X accounts instead of requiring separate account management, has drag-and-drop file exchange from a remote shared window, allows push installations if SSH (the Remote Login checkbox in the Sharing preference pane) is turned on, and works with Rendezvous. A new single-user license costs $95, and a twin pack costs $180 (other pricing is available for multiple licenses); upgrades for current owners are 50 percent off the new license rate. [GF]

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>