[Don Norman is an Apple Fellow and former vice president of Apple's Advanced Technology Group, perhaps best known in Macintosh circles as Apple's "User Experience Architect" and the author of The Design of Everyday Things and other key works of user design. He is currently the president of UNext Learning Systems. (Nov-99)
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.