Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Other articles in the series Palm Desktop 2.1

 

 
Previous: TidBITS 469 Next: TidBITS 471

Adobe Announces InDesign, Acrobat 4.0

Adobe Announces InDesign, Acrobat 4.0 -- At last week's Seybold show, Adobe Systems previewed its forthcoming publishing application InDesign and Acrobat 4.0Show full article

Groceries in the Mist

Since Tristan was born in January, Tonya and I have been leaving the house less frequently. We can't escape midwife and pediatrician appointments, but we've cut down on shopping - or rather, shopping that we can't do via the InternetShow full article

Moving Back to the (Palm) Desktop

Purchasing my PalmPilot a few years ago ended my flirtation with Mac-based personal information management (PIM) software. I experimented with Claris Organizer, but abandoned it because it couldn't synchronize with the PalmPilotShow full article

Show the full text of all articles