Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Electric Sheep 2.7b21

Send Article to a Friend

If you use the Electric Sheep screensaver, please download this important update, which fixes a bug that caused the previous version to hammer the sheep download server. The update also adds a count of how many times a particular sheep has appeared when you press F4, timestamps log entries, and makes it possible for you to tweak how many sheep are shown based on how often they are played. To learn more about Electric Sheep, see "Top 10 Screensavers for the 21st Century," 23 February 2009. (Free, 16.5 MB)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>