Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Aperture 3.2

Send Article to a Friend

In the continuing set of iCloud-related releases, Apple has pushed out Aperture 3.2 to provide compatibility with iCloud’s Photo Stream feature. A number of other minor changes round out the release, notably support for left and right swipe gestures for navigating between photos, the pinch-to-zoom gesture activating Zoom mode in the Viewer, relaunching into Full Screen mode if the app was in Full Screen mode when last quit, support for Microsoft Outlook for sending photos via email, and an option in the Import window to delete photos from an iOS device after import. Bugs have been fixed too, including a crashing bug when using brushes to apply adjustments, problems with Loupe displaying magnification levels between 50 and 100 percent, incorrect color profiles on externally edited images, and incorrect cursor icons when using the Lift & Stamp tool in Split View and Viewer Only modes. ($79.99 new from the Mac App Store, free update, 635.76 MB, release notes)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>