Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Keyboard Maestro 5.1

Send Article to a Friend

Stairways Software has released Keyboard Maestro 5.1, which brings a number of improvements and fixes to the automation utility. Most notably, the update adds a new For Each action that enables you to loop over a variety of collections (including files in a folder, mounted volumes, lines in a file, and more), acting on each item in turn. Other additions include a Percent Encode for URL filter and a signed developer ID that is used by OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion’s Gatekeeper security feature. The update also fixes a crash that could occur when a called text factory no longer exists, as well as a lockup when entering quoted strings in calculations. Read a complete rundown of all the improvements and fixes included in this update at the company’s blog. ($36 new, free update, $25 upgrade from versions previous to 5.0, 16.3 MB, release notes)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>