Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide


Mac OS X 10.7.5 Lion Server

Send Article to a Friend

Apple has released Mac OS X 10.7.5 Lion Server with fixes for a variety of commonly used services. The update provides fixes for maintaining the Spotlight index when changing share point settings, creating and connecting to the Open Directory master, using Software Update, and using Profile Manager to set how frequently the Mobility sync interacts with mobile accounts. It also improves the reliability of password authentication and changing an Xsan metadata controller into a client. The updates come in two editions — a delta update for those upgrading from 10.7.4 Lion Server (1.22 GB) and a Combo update for those upgrading from previous versions of Lion Server (1.99 GB). (Free update)


Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <>