Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Snapz Pro X 2.5.1

Send Article to a Friend

Ambrosia’s Snapz Pro X screen capture utility gets updated to version 2.5.1 with a fix to a positioning problem that Adam Engst called out in his recent write-up to the screen capture utility’s update to version 2.5 (see “Snapz Pro X 2.5 Finally Makes Nice with Mountain Lion,” 16 November 2012). The new release now properly remembers the selection position on multiple monitors. Other fixes include improved hotkey handling, removal of an incomplete Italian localization, and changes to the installer to address some instances of failed installations. ($69 new, free update, 13.8 MB)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>